Twisted Soul

It finally stopped raining here in Poughkeepsie,NY. I know they say “April showers bring May flowers”. But after three days of crappy wet weather you start to get sad. Anyhow in celebration of the fact that there is finally sunlight today I ventured out to lunch. I went to Twisted Soul , it’s ten minutes from Marist. Don’t let the name scare you. It’s an uplifting place.

So, first of all when you walk in you get the Soho vibe. It’s small and vibrant. They have really cool Andy Warhol type dog paintings along their walls. Anyhow the place describes itself as a food concept restaurant that is “inspired by soul and influenced by flavor”. In my opinion that’s the best description for this awesome place. They have comfort food from different cultures. This place is a multicultural soul food place in my opinion.  You can get anything from dumplings, Colombian arepas, Argentinean empanadas, Ethiopian  bbq tofu, Banh Mi, mac and cheese, bubble tea, cupcakes, and more. So, if you and your friends can’t decide on a specific cultural dining option this place is perfect. Bonus about this place is that they have vegan and gluten free options.

Anyhow since it’s a little chilly outside I went with the traditional beef Argentinean empanadas. They were so GOOD! It was filled with ground beef. caramelized onions, and chick peas. It came with a really yummy olive oil dipping sauce flavored by a lot of spices. Not sure what kind because I inhaled it. For those of you that don’t know what empanadas are no worries I’ll explain. Empanadas are meat filled pastries and are very traditional to many of the Latin American countries. They can be fried or baked. Mine were baked. As a beverage I got the Bubble Milk Watermelon Jasmine – Green Tea. It’s a bubble tea. This was my favorite thing.  I was really happy that I got this. Don’t know what bubble tea is? Well, bubble tea is  Taiwanese tea based drink.  It’s essentially tea mixed with milk or fruit. It’s also called pearl milk tea, milk tea, or boba tea.  Anyhow it was awesome. It tasted like Mexican strawberry milk jello. If you’ve never had that I recommend that you try it, it’s yummy.  I also got a cupcake.

Don’t judge me with all the food I ate here 🙂 . I really wanted a cupcake and they had them. I got a Banana Nana cupcake. What’s that? It’s banana cake cupcake with nutella filling and white frosting that’s topped with cashews. They have more cupcake flavors that are just as awesome as this one. So, I recommend that you run here now! This place is amazing. The atmosphere is fun. I felt like a Soho hipster 🙂 . This is one of new favorite places.

-The Hungry Red Fox

P.S. If you’re in the Poughkeepsie Galleria they have a cupcake stand by Target/Movie theater area. Also Vassar College is right there if you want to explore the area.

Check out their website http://twistedsoulconcepts.com/home of Facebook https://www.facebook.com/TwistedSoulFoodConcepts?fref=ts

Location:47 Raymond Avenue-Poughkeepsie, NY 12603

Travel Time: 10 minute car ride

Hours: Monday,Wednesday, & Thursday 11:30am-8:00pm, Friday 11:30am-8:30pm, Saturday 12:00pm-8:30pm, Closed Tuesday & Sunday.

Price Range: Breakfast $2.95-$7.95

Payment: Cash & Credit

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One response to “Twisted Soul

  1. Pingback: Gelatina de Leche | The Hungry Red Fox·

Leave a Reply

